Radishes

I joined Craftsy.com the other day. I downloaded the free lesson on short rows so I am thinking that will be my goal for March; to master short rows. I’m thinking using them for a heel of a sock.  Peresphone had a checkup at the Vet today so we had a busy morning.

IMG_1405  IMG_1408

The other night I made some dye out of radish skins.

IMG_2257

I can’t wait to try it. I made it up so I’m not sure how it will work but if you want to try it here’s the recipie:

  1. Chop up the skins of four radishes.
  2. Place two cups of water into a saucepan and boil them
  3. Add the radish skins and let them boil for ten minutes.
  4. Add 1/4 cup of water and simeer the skins and water for another ten minute (With the lid on the pot).
  5. Let sit over night.
  6. Strain out skins.
  7. Save until ready to use.

*Note- this does not make much dye to the water boiling off. I’m not sure whether I’ll add more water when I use it or simply make more.

I finished my second hot pad.

IMG_2259

I am making one more, it’s simple garter stitch. I’m planning to felt it.

3 thoughts on “Radishes

  1. I love the craftsy classes. When they run a sale, I have been known to purchase a class or two. And, I learned a lot from the short rows class.

    I’m looking forward to seeing how your radish dye works out for you. I haven’t dyed anything yet but I’m itching to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

