Oh Baby!

There are a couple of ways this title could go.

Oh Baby, there’s a lot of snow!

IMG_4819

We have about two feet of snow and there’s more falling today. The birds are fighting over the birdseed and Persephone is having way too much  fun watching them.

IMG_4832

Oh Baby, there are a lot of babies!

It seems like everyone is having babies right now. My math teach Mrs. K is having  a baby girl in the middle of March and Rosie will be getting a new baby sister in the beginning of May. A bit further down the road, the wife of a friend of mine will be having a baby in August as well.  My biggest challenge would be to figure out what the heck one makes a spring baby. Sweaters and hats won’t get nearly as much use as if the baby was born in the fall so, I decided to make some toys.

I started with some garter knit squares.

IMG_4780

And added some stuffing and rattles that I bought on etsy from American Felt and Craft.

IMG_4782

I waved my magic knitting wand and poof! They turned into adorable little rabbits (by Artsy Fartsy Mama).

IMG_4827

With huge pompom tails.

IMG_4829

And they want to go outside and play in the snow.

IMG_4830

As a ‘Big Sister’ gift for Rosie I’m planning on knitting a medium-sized bear from Emma King’s The Best-Dressed Knitted Bear and lengthening the ears so it becomes a rabbit. For the baby due in August I’m going to knit a bear as well and, if it’s a boy, I’m going to make it a cowboy outfit. I’m not sure yet what I’ll do for a girl. The best part about knitting for babies is that everything is so small.

4 thoughts on “Oh Baby!

Leave a Reply

