Cabin Fever

Now that all the Christmas knitting is finished I have been working on Cable Dress & Hat. Do you remember that? I was working on it back in the spring before I started in on my gift knitting. I reached the first decreases last night. It now measures fourteen inches long.

IMG_1906

I was lucky enough to receive several knitting related things for Christmas this year. I was given a set of size Us 10.5 dpns.

IMG_0862

I also received a book on natural plant dyes.

IMG_1900

It is by Sasha Duerr and is titled The Handbook of Natural Plant Dyes. It is informative, easy to understand, and has several examples of projects. I created an iron mordant friday evening. Here’s what it looked like the next morning.

IMG_1895

It’s one part vinegar to two parts water and some old rusty nails. The book says to let it sit for a week or two and it will be ready to use.

I have a case of cabin fever now, waiting to be able to try out the plant dyes. Right now my yard looks like this:

IMG_1898

I obviously cannot find any plants but, I might be able to try a birch bark dye. There are several of them growing in the woods behind our house. It will turn out pink. I hope. Although with the six inches we’re getting today I don’t know if I’ll be able to get to them before the sping thaw.

2 thoughts on “Cabin Fever

Leave a Reply

