Deciduous Again

I seem to be having a hard time getting these posts up before the assigned day is quite over. Anyway, Day 2, the assignment for today is to pick a mascot project. Eskimimi defines a Mascot project as:

“a project that embodies that house/animal…. either of the animal itself or something that makes you think of the qualities of that house.”

I went onto the Ravelry project page and was surfing around thinking about what my perfect project would be. After some thought I came up with fingerless glove. They are quick and practical. I decided that I’d use Deciduous as my mascot project since it is something I designed and am rather proud of. IMG_1948

 

Fingerless gloves are quick enough to hold even my attention all the way through. Especially if they’re knit on large needles like Deciduous was. I get enough use out of them that I feel like I’m making something useful . They can be as fancy or as plain as you want. There are an endless number of ways to construct them; flat or in the round. The sleeves could reach all the way up one’s elbows or stay at mid forearm. Really they are quite customizable with cables or lace. Instarsia or beading.

Here are some links to other fingerless glove patterns I liked:

Spatterdash Wristwarmers by Dagmar Mora

Fightin’ Words by Annie Watts

Kelsey Gloves and Mitts by Silka Burgoyne

Leave a Reply

