New Colorways and a Giveaway

A week or so ago I was asked to do a demonstration on how to dye Kool Aid. I bought a few skeins of Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted in the White Frost colorway. This is the same yarn I used to knit the Bunny Hoppers.

I started by making a variegated yarn using Cherry, Fruit Punch, Orange and Lemonade Kool Aid.

IMG_2980

Firefly

Then I dyed one entire skein with a package of Grape Kool Aid.

IMG_2967

(Shady) Grape

IMG_2969

(Sunny) Grape

It was hard to capture the color of this skein. In shade it looks like the first picture; but in the sun it looks like the second.

IMG_2977

See-saw

This is the skein I used for the demonstration. I was rather a disappointment. The Kool Aid simply did not want to go up the yarn. It was well saturated with water. But the color stayed stubbornly at the bottom.

I decided that I really didn’t like the grape yarn the way it was so I decided to experiment. I took one blue tablet for an Easter egg dye kit and soaked the yarn in that. I also added some food coloring because I really wanted to see a change.

IMG_2994

Dark Grape

It didn’t change much but you can see blue streaks here and there. It’s a little darker overall as well.

Now that I have an abundance of Kool Aid dyed yarn I am going to share the wealth. All you have to do is leave a relevant comment on this post by 12:00 noon EST Wednesday June 12 2013. I will then pick someone via the random number generator and they will receive the skein of Dark Grape yarn. Good Luck! If you have any questions feel free to ask.

15 thoughts on “New Colorways and a Giveaway

  1. What fun, I’ve heard that kool-aid dye can be tricky, but I love the purples you got. Please enter me in the contest. – Thank you,

  2. I’m a newcomer to fibre dyeing as I have only been spinning since March. I love how you were able to tinker with the colour of the grape yarn. I hope to be able to learn how once I have mastered the spinning. Please enter me in your giveaway. Thank you!

    • You’re Welcome! Dyeing yarn (especially with Kool Aid) is rather easy. Spinning, on the other hand, I find is a little more challenging. Good Luck!

  3. Gorgeous! Kool-aid dyeing is so much fun! I’m just getting started trying things out myself 🙂 I love all the colors you got!

Leave a Reply

