Foodie for a Change

I don’t normally do foodie posts (I’ve done one. I think.), but since there is not much knitting news I decided I’d share a recipe I found a la google with you.

Yesterday was a hot day. Summer was trying one more time to get the band back together. Heat and humidity and all that jazz. When I got home I was grumpy and hot. I had a bit of time before supper so I decided to make some bread. I googled ‘bread recipes’ and came up with a list of the top ten favorite breads of a blogger.

After perusing the list I decided to make the Honey-Oatmeal Sandwich Bread. I was sorely tempted by the Chocolate Babka and the Soft Cheese and Pepperoni Bread. I probably would have made the Pepperoni bread but I didn’t have any pepperonis. I whipped up the dough and while I let it rise I worked a few rounds on E String.

IMG_3554

After supper I came in to check on it and it had exploded upwards and, even though it still had another half an hour to rise, I threw it in the oven. Crisis averted I continued to knit on E String.

At 8:06 voila! I had a loaf of bread. It was a little misshapen due to it starting to fall but it smelled delicious.

IMG_3548

This morning I had a slice with my coffee and it was very yummy. Not quite as sweet as I thought but that’s propably due to me having to add extra flour to make up for my extremely stupid decision to not subtract the water I was using to prep the yeast (which was then dumped into the dough) from the total amout of water needed. Extra water = extra flour.

IMG_3549

;

IMG_3550

As I was corralling the pictures for this post I found a cute picture of Rosie’s new toy.

IMG_3474

She couldn’t squeeze the body hard enough to make the eyes pop like it was supposed to so she’d just pull them out one at a time. Thought you might enjoy that.

Leave a Reply

