Blurred Lines

In the two-and-a-half years I have been blogging here I have always tried to keep my personal life separate from my knitting life. I use pseudonyms for nearly everyone and I don’t stray much from talking about knitting (who would want to though?). Last week, however, those lines blurred. My knitting was featured in the creative issue of my school’s newspaper. They were all patterns I designed and they were published under my real name.

IMG_5123

I thought about adding my web address but decided against it. I do want this world to stay separate from my classmates. You can see the editor picked Bow Wow Beanie, E-String, Strawberry Mittens and a skein of the alpaca/silk blend I spun way back when. I was pleasantly surprised that she picked as many pictures as she did.

IMG_5122

I started the gift for my friend whose wife is expecting a baby in August. The shower is in May though, so I thought I better get started. First, I knit up a tiny tether (from Knitty.com). The picture is kind of dark and blurry. It looks better if you squint. 🙂

IMG_5153

the stem is about four inches long and to knit it up probably only took a few hours all together. It just doesn’t seem long enough so, I’m going to frog the flower and add another inch to the stem. I figure it’ll be pretty useful to have some way to hold onto a pacifier and keep it close to the baby. I also sent the rabbit, which I named Radish due to his coloring, to Rosie. Her little sister, Daisy, was born earlier this month and looks just like her.

IMG_4962

He really isn’t that crooked in real life. He’s just very floppy. He turned out much better than the bear I made for her first birthday.

8 thoughts on “Blurred Lines

      • You are right, Radish is very radishy and cute too! The fuzzy belly and ears are a nice touch. Congrats on the feature in the paper!

      • Thanks! I was rather surprised by it. The editor is a crocheter so she was sure to include several different types of the fiber arts… (sewing, knitting, crocheting…)

      • Well, then it is an even better honor. One fiber artist recognizing quality and thoughtful workmanship by another. Not just some one who thinks it is “neat” that you make your own stuff. 🙂 (but that is appreciated too!)

Leave a Reply

