A Day in the Life of Bahamas Socks #1

5KCBWDAY1 A Day In The Life
Describe a day in the life of a project that you have made, or are in the process of making.

 

Dear diary,

What a day! I can’t believe everything that happened today. I was cast on early in the morning. Cleo was on a road trip with her family. They were headed to Cornell University for her brother’s Rubik’s cube competition. It was a long ride so she had plenty of time to work on me. She had just finished my toe with the wave colorwork when we arrived.

IMG_5337

She tucked me away in her purse as they headed to the competition. It would have been really dark except that she hadn’t zipped it all the way closed. I couldn’t see anything but I could hear what was going on. There was a lot of bouncing which were stairs. They seemed confused. I guess the competition got moved. Eventually they figured out where it was. More bouncing. More stairs.

When we got to the room all I could hear was a lot  of people talking and a weird clicking noise. As soon as they sat down Cleo got me out so she could work on me. I couldn’t believe how many people there were. I felt really small so I made sure to drop one of my dpns so that everyone knew I was there. It worked.

There were cubes everywhere.

IMG_5334

There were people solving cubes with one hand.

IMG_5336

There was a person who’s job was to un-solve the cubes.

IMG_5342

There were ‘cubes’ that weren’t even square! (these are three of them stack on top of each other.)

IMG_5355

They  went to lunch at a place called Jimmy Johns where they made subs super fast. The food was messy so Cleo didn’t have a chance to work on me so she just got a progress shot of me with the menu.

By the time we got back they had started some even crazier things than before.

IMG_5363

They were solving Rubik’s cubes with their feet!

IMG_5364

And with their eyes shut!

Eventually the competition wound down and Cleo’s brother was eliminated so we left. (He got 37th place out of around 60 people for the three x three. The traditional Rubik’s cube.) Cleo’s parents said they wanted us to see something before we left.

IMG_5368

Buttermilk Falls! They were so pretty. Cleo even let me take a selfie in front of the falls. It was such an exciting day, I went from cast on to having a heel turned. I can’t wait to be bound off!

 

PS~ Cleo wants me to add that I’m the Turkish Walrus pattern by Rachel Brown and I’m made out of this yarn….

10 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of Bahamas Socks #1

Leave a comment